E-visa system for foreigners to visit Ukraine

Invest in Ukraine: E-visa system for foreigners to visit Ukraine

Ukraine has recently made some amendments to its visa rules. From 1 January 2019 onwards, foreign nationals of some countries will no longer be able to get visas on arrival at airports. However, nationals of 44 countries in total, e.g. Australia, Indonesia, Malaysia, Saudi Arabia, Singapore, Thailand, can buy an electronic visa to visit Ukraine in advance using Ukraine’s e-visa system.

Visit our website if you are interested in #doing business in Ukraine or looking for new #investment opportunities

According to the Decree No. 954 dated 14.11.2018 issued by the Cabinet of Ministers of Ukraine, some foreigners coming to the country will be able to make use of the e-visa system and get an electronic visa in advance. At the same time, starting from 1 January 2019, Ukraine will stop issuing visas at airports.

At the moment, citizens of 31 countries can buy 15-day visas on arrival in Ukraine. Currently, the types of such e-visas cover only 2 purposes of visit to Ukraine, such as tourism and business. Moreover, they, as well as nationals of 13 more countries, can also get an electronic visa beforehand using Ukraine’s e-visa system which was introduced in April 2018.

Thus, nationals of 44 countries in total can buy an electronic visa to visit Ukraine in advance. In particular, such countries include Australia, the Bahamas, Barbados, Bahrain, Bolivia, Bhutan, Vanuatu, Haiti, Guatemala, Honduras, Grenada, Dominica, Dominican Republic, Indonesia, Cambodia, Costa Rica, Kuwait, Lao People’s Democratic Republic, Mauritius, Malaysia, Maldives, Mexico, Micronesia, Myanmar, Nepal, Nicaragua, New Zealand, Oman, Palau, Peru, El Salvador, Samoa, Saudi Arabia, Seychelles, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Saint Lucia, Singapore, Suriname, Thailand, Timor-Leste, Trinidad and Tobago, Tuvalu, Fiji, and Jamaica. From 1 January 2019 onwards, visitors from these jurisdictions will no longer be able to purchase visas at border checkpoints in Ukrainian airports.

According to the new government decree, a short-term e-visa can be issued for up to 30 days. From 1 January 2019, the fee for a 30-day electronic visa will be USD 85. Moreover, in addition to tourism and business, types of e-visas now cover a wider range of purposes of visit, such as medical treatment, cultural, educational, and scientific activities, visits of athletes and journalists.

Besides, travelers from 65 countries, including the EU nationals and citizens of former Soviet republics, some Asian countries and North America, do not need a visa to visit Ukraine, provided their stay does not exceed 90 days.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.